Non-GB registered instruments

I am new to fixed income investing, with a background in shares and funds.

All of my current investments are listed on the LSE – but I try to avoid GB registered share to avoid paying stamp duty (non-GB registered stocks are exempt from SDLT).

I wonder if you have come across any preferred shares or bonds that are equally registered in Jersey, Guernsey or elsewhere?

Many thanks,

Tony

Comments

• Bonds do not ordinarily attract stamp duty. As for prefs I would concentrate on quality, risk and overall return rather than saving 0.5% in duty.
  • Totally agree with Beekay statement
    Bonds tend to have a greater spread than Preference shares, thus in essence cancelling out the stamp duty cost of 0.5% advantage.
    Trying to save on "Taxation", whether Stamp duty or otherwise tends to steer one into false economy - More important is security and the quality of the investment and having a good wide diversified portfolio
  • beekey, Shaunm: What is your favourite pref right now?

I have just figured out that all bond trading is OTC anyways (no DMA) making short term tactical placements very expensive.

Which leaves me with SDLT-exempts shares, if you can think of one?
  • I used to have RUSP which was listed in Jersey or Guernsey from memory as I remember I had to declare the foreign dividend on my tax return. However like the guys above I wouldn't buy it for tax reasons. If you want exposure to Russian warehouses with rouble rents and threat of sanctions then this is your baby!
  • My Favourite Pref shares at the the present are the cumulative AV.A & RSAB
    Both fairly safe with a reasonable yield
    The Aviva saga gave a "good investment opportunity" to the Prefs market
    The Prefs are held for long term income, and represent 22% of my total portfolio
    I also hold, GACA, LLPC, NWBD, SAN NTEA, ELLA
    I do not invest for short term trading